Everything Happens When It’s Supposed To

LatifahShaDae'
2 min readApr 5, 2022

--

October-ish 2014. I just knew I was getting fired. My cash drawer was off. Ugh! I was sick of that job but I didn't have a plan b. But whatever I’m going on my birthday vacation. I’ll hadle this when I return. Off to Miami I go.

Now once I returned it was only a matter of time before I was called into the office to get the boot.

All November I went to work waiting to get that call to the office. Nothing.

Boom! December 1st, I got the call. I was ready for it. It wasn't a surprise. But now what? What’s next? I had no clue. I spent the next few weeks sleeping late, staying up until 3am. making hot wings, fries, and whatever else I could get my hands on. I brought in the New Year on unemployment. I sat on my bed drawing in giant sketchbooks, trying to figure out what my next move would be. I signed up for a class at the Fashion Institute of Technology. I just wanted to make t-shirts. I learned nothing. One day on my way home after class I ran into someone from middle school who remembered I was artistically inclined. I was then invited to a “Sip and Paint.” I had no clue what that was but I was down.

Once I got to the sip and paint the next week, the first thing I did was sip. I never really painted before. If you’ve ever been to one then you know you just follow the steps from the instructor. We painted lips. I gave mine a gold tooth and a bee for a little razzle dazzle. When I got home I posted it on Facebook and got 100 likes. I didn’t think that many people would like it. They showed love in the comments. I felt inspired. Since I was home, doing nothing, I thought this would give me something to do. They very next day I went to Utrecht Art Supply Store at Union Square in the city. I had no clue what I was supposed to be picking out in there. An employee helped me pick out acrylic paint, canvases, and brushes.

Oh baby!…I didn't know it then, but this was the start of my career…

And it started right when it was supposed to. I was in the right place at the right time in my life and physically.

--

--